Welcome to Akira Kurosawa info!  Log in or Register?

Macbeth

•   link

Ugetsu

It was released too late for our earlier discussions on Orson Welles Macbeth and Throne of Blood, but I just managed to catch the most recent version, which everyone seems to be calling the Michael Fassbender one, since I guess the director, Justin Kurzel, isn’t so well known. It received very good reviews, which is impressive I think for any film which has been previously done by so many prominent directors.

I’ve no background in Shakespeare scholarship, so its always hard to review these films without knowing the context, so I can only compare it to the other versions I’ve seen, and I think it stands up very well. It manages the tricky balance of being very cinematic, while very true, not just to the original play, but to the original context. It is set unambiguously in early medieval Scotland, using gorgeous Highland backdrops with lots of suitably medieval dirt and grime (although historical pedants would note that the castle and cathedral used as sets for the later part of the story date to at least 2 centuries after the historical MacBeth.) It is highly visual, with the final scenes being almost Bayhemic in scope. Kunzel opts for a more naturalistic approach to the dialogue than most which matches the ‘realistic’ setting. I haven’t compared the film to the original, but i think that compared to any of the other versions of Macbeth I’ve seen, he has altered the narrative pattern and ‘script’ more than any other (apart of course from Kurosawa).