Welcome to Akira Kurosawa info!  Log in or Register?

When a Woman Ascends the Stairs: Film Noir as a narrative device

•   link

Vili

I have very little background knowledge of Naruse or When a Woman Ascends the Stairs, but something that caught my attention when watching the film was its filmnoiresque delivery. A quick web search suggests many others have also noted it, but the topic seems always to be mentioned only in passing as a stylistic device, rather than a narrative one. In fact, I have been unable to find anyone actually discussing the film’s noir influences. Yet, my take after a single viewing is that noir is narratively at the very heart of the film.

But why film noir for a story which clearly is not film noir?

While When a Woman Ascends the Stairs does not have the crime, the detectives, the violence or the shady characters that would actually make it film noir, it is curious how many other genre devices the film uses. It all starts with the stylised images in opening credits and continues with the protagonist’s voice-over narration. The scenes are throughout lit in very noir-like ways, and there is even something of the typical doomed noir hero’s alienation and hopelessness in Keiko. The setting, a Ginza night club district, with its drinks and ever lingering cigarette smoke is a perfect home for a noir film, and the cool jazz music soundtrack only heightens this feeling. The supporting characters, which include the young and handsome manager, the sexy and mischievous young hostess, the fraudulent suitor, Keiko’s married love interest, and the young hostess-turned-manager who overdoses, could all easily take the story into the noir territory, if allowed to do so. But they aren’t. When a Woman Ascends the Stairs lacks the hard hitting, hard boiled nature of a film noir. It is a much softer, far more gentle, and all in all a more grown up film than is typical for noir.

Why, indeed, film noir?