Welcome to Akira Kurosawa info!  Log in or Register?

The Kurosawa estate?

•   link

Ali

Hi all,

My name’s Ali and I am a film student. I am doing research into Kurosawa but I have noticed that there hasn’t been much activity from the estate? There haven’t been many exhibitions, etc. I saw there were plans years ago for a museum, but nothing happened.

I suppose I was just wondering what people thought? It’s about time there was a retrospective!

Ali

link

Vili

Hi Ali, and welcome to the site!

I think the estate has actually put quite a lot of effort into all sorts of activities in the years after Kurosawa’s passing. There have been a handful of touring exhibitions of Kurosawa’s artworks and personal effects, as well as posthumous film productions like After the Rain and Dora-Heita and, for younger audiences, the anime series Kaze no Yojimbo and Samurai 7. There was also a video game loosely based on Seven Samurai and another one in the works until for some reason or another Kurosawa Productions pulled out of what ultimately was released to critical acclaim as Ni-Oh. Most recently, there was a stage musical last year based on Ikiru and it was actually the second musical production after the Samurai 7 anime was also turned into a musical adaptation back in 2015. There is also a chain of Kurosawa themed restaurants in Japan (or is it just Tokyo? I forget) and three Kurosawa Film Studios, although I don’t know whether the estate is directly involved with those.

Of course, news of many of these things have been hard to come by outside of Japan. But I suppose the estate’s focus pretty much has to be Japan.