Welcome to Akira Kurosawa info!  Log in or Register?

Scorsese and Kurosawa

•   link

lenatomoko

Hi.

I am a film studies student and doing an assignment on Kurosawa’s influence on Scorsese. I am ashamed to admit that I haven’t seen any of Kurosawa’s film and I don’t know where to start.

Which movies should I watch to start with??

Which Scorsese’s films do you think were influenced by Kurosawa?

If there is any books or website, ariticles that you recommend, I really appreciate it.

link

Ugetsu

Hi lenatomoko,

There was a discussion here a few months ago that touched on this topic.

The obvious film to start with is ‘Dreams‘ because Scorsese plays Van Gogh in that film!

I would say that the film with the most direct influence on Scorsese would be High and Low. I kept thinking of that film when watching Taxi Driver, and to a lesser extent Goodfellas and Bringing Out the Dead. There is a new blu-ray version out in Region 1 which would be a great introduction to Kurosawa’s contemporary films for you (it is a fantastic thriller, I’m sure you’ll enjoy it hugely). To a lesser extent, I think The Bad Sleep Well and Stray Dog had an influence. I think Yojimbo also had a great influence, but maybe an indirect one – in other words, Yojimbo influenced many of the hot young directors of the ’60’s and ’70’s, especially when it came to filming action and violence – but frequently I think many directors who learned how to do it well did so via Leone and Pekinpah and others who studied Kurosawa closely.

Its harder to put a finger on what Scorsese learned from Kurosawa. I would say its in editing – for me, what they both have in common is a very fluid and dynamic style, and both are particularly brilliant at merging camera movement and action with editing – in fact, I don’t think either have ever been surpassed. And since Kurosawa was ‘first’, I would assume Scorsese learned a lot from studying his films.