Welcome to Akira Kurosawa info!  Log in or Register?

Recommendations for a Japanese film to watch 100 times

•   link

Ugetsu

Ok, I know this is an odd request, but I thought one of you out there would have a recommendation for a modern (i.e. modern Japanese language) film or TV show for intensive rewatching.

I’ve been dabbling in learning Japanese for a few years now, without having put any real focus into pushing beyond ‘arigato’ beginner level. I’ve made a little progress on reading, but my conversation and communication skills are non-existent, and its tough to make progress not having any native speakers to practice with, and all classes have been cancelled for the foreseeable future for reasons I think we all know about.

I’ve been following an American teacher known as Dogen who seems to be very admired by other teachers, his focus is very much on getting pitch and pronunciation correct from a very early stage of learning, which makes sense to me. One of his key recommendations for those not living in Japan is to find a film or TV series and watch it repeatedly, while voice shadowing the actors. When I say ‘repeatedly’, I really mean it – watching it over and over again over months and years until you can say the lines by heart, with the same pace, pitch and enunciation as the actors.

Now the problem is finding something that is bearable to watch over and over again, and won’t end up making me speak Japanese like an 18th Century Samurai, a teenage girl, or an Osakan street hustler. So while I’d happily watch Seven Samurai or Spirited Away or some of the racier episodes of Naked Director on repeat, I don’t think thats a great idea. Dogen’s recommendation is the first two episodes of the popular rom-com series ‘Orange Days‘, or the film ‘Tokyo Sonata‘.

So, has anyone any recommendations? Preferably something on youtube or Netflix so I can access it anywhere and anytime.

link

Vili