Welcome to Akira Kurosawa info!  Log in or Register?

Japan’s NHK BS2 showing most of Kurosawa’s films

Tagged: ,

•   link

Jeremy

Well, I had to make a really quick unwilling trip to Japan a few days ago, and I discovered on the TV that NHK’s BS2 channel just started on the 5th a Kurosawa celebration.

They are showing all the Toho films, started with Rashomon on the 5th and next week is Yojimbo. I believe they repeat the show twice before moving on, although I’m not for sure the announcer was talking to fast for me to catch everything, I’m not too good at understanding Japanese.

I never was near a TV during the showings, but I did see a rather crappy short documentary about him, as mentioned my Japanese is just barely decent but I know enough to understand most of what they said—it was hardly anything interesting, and stuff everyone on this site would already know. .

The people where just I guess NHK staff that pretend to care, it offer no interviews from anyone worth hearing.

It was your basic Japanese news show, where someone say something and everyone nods their head, like they care and say “oh yes, that interesting”

To sum up the documentary (if to go as far as to call it that), it was more or less a news segment in a tiny documentary format.

Person one: “Kurosawa is great”

4 other people: “oh yes”, “great”

Person two: “I like his movies”

4 other people : “oh yes” “great”

All while they nod their head, and pretend they are really, really interested in everything being said. Its B-movie overacting at its worse.

Seriously thats a typical Japanese news broadcast. If its bad news they just say “oh, thats bad” 😆

The commercial also list NHK website about it

http://www.nhk.or.jp/kurosawa/

I checked it out for the first time today when I got back, and the site is really slow to load, but its really well done.

All in Japanese but very easy to navigate, even if you cant read.

link

Vili