Welcome to Akira Kurosawa info!  Log in or Register?

Alternate Rashomon analysis

•   link

Rasho'mom'

Rashomon – An alternate symbolism analysis
    By Robin Raef (Rasho’mom’)

I recently saw “Rashomon”, by Akira Kurosawa, for the first time. This viewing was at the recommendation of my son, who is very interested in Akira Kurosawa films. The film has not left my mind since I saw it. I am no slacker when it comes to film. I studied film in high school and college and I have always had a high interest in the film arts.

While watching the film I thought out loud. I asked what the building was that they were in. My son said it was a temple. When he said, “Temple” the thought crossed my mind that the building could symbolize a “womb”. As the film progressed the “womb” symbol became very apparent to me.

First, the building that was damaged symbolized the “ruining” of the woman by being raped, in that period of time, in that culture.

There were two confused and distraught men taking shelter in the building. This symbolized the husband and thief each being with the woman and the resulting dilemma they faced after the rape. The woodcutter who witnessed the rape was represented by the commoner who later came to take wood from the building for his own needs.

If there was any doubt in my mind that the building was representative of a womb, it disappeared when the baby was found. We can assume that the woman was pregnant after the rape, however, the identity of the father would be in question.
    The two men taking shelter in the building did not dwell on where the baby came from. They decided that the baby would be cared for by the woodcutter and they moved on with their lives with the knowledge they did the right thing for humanity.

After the film, I shared my view that the building represented a womb. I was promptly laughed at and it is now a running joke among my husband and son.