Welcome to Akira Kurosawa info!  Log in or Register?

Gifts Help

Tagged: 

•   link

Vili

The following is moved from another thread, where Ugetsu asked:

Ugetsu: Oh, and to change the subject completely – a question for all of you (especially Lawless) about anime and manga, etc….

I have to buy a birthday present soon for my very precocious 12 year old nephew*. I have been buying him Studio Ghibli dvd’s for a couple of years now, and he loves them (and always bombards me with questions about Japanese mythology when I visit as a result). He’s an especially big fan of Princess Mononoke (as I am too). I think its time for him to go onto something a bit more hard core (in a manner of speaking) 🙄 . Any suggestions?

And while you are at it, there is also a birthday a few months away for his 16 year old sister (who prefers Spirited Away). Suggestions for her too would be welcome!

*(example: When asked by someone what he wanted to be when he grew up, he answered ‘Nobel prize winning writer’. When asked why not the Nobel in Physics he said ‘my big brother already has that one sown up!’).

link

lawless

I’m not sure what is meant by more hardcore – more violent? I haven’t seen anything more recent from Ghibli than Spirited Away. Going from anime to live action? If live action would do, I’d almost suggest Kurosawa, although the ones short enough to possibly appeal to a 12-year old might be too violent, or if his interests lie more in horror, perhaps a mild (if there are any) Japanese horror movie.